This is the "Japanese Animal Resources" page of the "Grade 6 - Animals & Habitats" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Grade 6 - Animals & Habitats   Tags: animal, animals, grade 6, myp, science  

This LibGuide is designed to support Grade 6 students research into animals of Japan.
Last Updated: May 17, 2017 URL: http://yis.libguides.com/japan-animals Print Guide RSS Updates

Japanese Animal Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

YIS Library Catalog

Search the catalog to see if we have a book on your specific animal. Remember to use broad and narrow search terms. If nothing shows up for "crane" try "birds". There may be a book about birds that has a section on your specific crane.

 

Encyclopaedias

Encyclopeadia Britannica is a great research for broad background information on a topic. Make this one of your initial resources to search, and then return to it later for general information on your kind of animal if you can't detailed information about your specific animal.

Encyclopaedia of Life

Our knowledge of the many life-forms on Earth - of animals, plants, fungi, protists and bacteria - is scattered around the world in books, journals, databases, websites, specimen collections, and in the minds of people everywhere. Imagine what it would mean if this information could be gathered together and made available to everyone – anywhere – at a moment’s notice. EOL is trying to increase awareness and understanding of living nature through an Encyclopedia of Life that gathers, generates, and shares knowledge in an open, freely accessible and trusted digital resource.

Database

  • Animal Diversity Web
    This is a searchable database sponsored by University of Michigan and the National Science Foundation (USA). Some of the reading can be challenging, but each entry is broken into helpful sections. Don't read the whole thing; just the parts relevant to your research.

National Geographic

  • National Geographic - Animals
    On the right hand side, if you scroll down a bit, there's a searchable Animals A-Z box where you can see if they have a specific page on your animal.
  • Kid's National Geographic
    Search your animal here for easy to read, visually pleasing information about your animal.
  • National Geographic News
    This should be one of the last sites you search for additional, interesting information about your topic.

Climate Data

Looking for climate data about your animal's habitat? Check out this website recommended by Ms. Kaufman.

Japanese Zoos

  • Kyoto City Zoo
    They have a list of animals with basic (VERY BASIC) information about each one.

Organizations

  • The IUCN Red list of threatened species
    The IUCN Red List is an index of threatened species from around the world. To date more than 76,000 species have been assessed for The IUCN Red List. This is an incredible achievement.
 

Share Excellent Resources

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Katy Jean Vance

Search Engines

The Science Research serach engine can help you find science specific results. Remember to search with keywords or short phrases, not full questions or sentences. 

Also, be careful to identify which resources you can read, as some may be high level univeristy texts. Take the time; it's worth it!

DK Find Out

  • DK Find Out
    This searchable website is made by the DK book people, who make those glossy picture filled publications. It has some easy to read summaries about many of the animals with awesome photos.

ARKive -

From their website:

With the help of the world’s best wildlife filmmakers and photographers, conservationists and scientists, we are creating an awe-inspiring record of life on Earth. Freely accessible to everyone and preserved for the benefit of future generations, Arkive is a truly invaluable resource for conservation, education and public awareness.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip